WHO WE ROLL/SKI/PADDLE/CLIMB WITH: BRETT DAVIS

Options
MARK SIREK
MARK SIREK Administrator Posts: 298
edited June 2023 in THE GEAR LAB

Words and Photos from Brett Davis @bdavis

WHO AM I AND WHAT DO I DO?

My name is Brett Davis, though most friends and my students call me “BD.” I am fortunate to call Durango, CO home where I have lived and worked as the Director of the Outdoor Pursuits program at Fort Lewis College for the past 15 years. I have been working as an outdoor educator for 25 years providing opportunities for college students to get outside and let the deserts, mountains, rivers, and oceans speak to them however they will. It is a pretty awesome job and career!

I grew up as the son of a career military officer in the Air Force, hence we were always on the move from place to place. I believe we moved 13 times before I went off to college. These experiences were fundamental to my adventurous spirit and need to explore. As a kid, basketball was the family game where my dad was a basketball star in his younger years (check out a short film about him, A Ride with Gunner). The sport dominated my life through college when I finally hung up the sneakers and began pursuing outdoor activities in earnest. My father’s other passion was skiing, so, needless to say, I was sliding on snow by the age of three. This amazing sport was my gateway into the wonders of the mountains and being outside. 

WHAT DO I DO OUTSIDE AND FOR HOW LONG AND WHERE?

Where to begin? I am a generalist having pursued many different activities for many years. From all disciplines of climbing (rock, ice, alpine, mountaineering), cycling (mountain biking, bikepacking, road touring), backcountry skiing, to paddling (whitewater kayaking, expedition rafting, packrafting), I have put my time into each of these activities with the ability to perform and teach each of them at a high level.