A European spends a Summer in the US & Canada: What is the most beautiful hikes?

Options

Hello everyone,

I've just registered. Glad to be here!

My name is Vincent, I'm an adventure photographer originally based in Germany. 2 years ago my wife and I embarked on a trip around the world in our converted van. We've been down in South America most of the time and have now shipped the car to the US to explore around here.

We are super keen on spending as much time hiking and experiencing this beautiful country and it's huge variety of landscapes as possible. And I believe this community and all it's knowledge might be a perfect resource for tips on how to make the most of our stay here in the US.

We're currently on our way from the eastcoast to the west, approaching Colorado.

My US Visa is valid for ~2.5 more months. After that, we'd like to spend 2-3 months in Canada before hopefully being allowed to return to the US in the fall (August/September) for another month or two. I don't think we'll have time for Alaska this time around (the visa limits us unfortunately).

We are fit and experienced backcountry hikers. I think the sweetspot would be 1-2 weeks hikes. We're comfortable with trail-less backcountry and would prefer to stay away as much as possible from the crowds.

The rough route idea with the van through the US is to make a big loop around Utah, Arizona, Nevada (Moab, Bryce, Zion, Grand Canyon, Red Rocks etc.), then head west, up to Yosemite and up the coast via Washington and Oregon to Vancouver, Canada.

Some ideas for hikes or areas that I've written down:

Pfiffner Traverse, Colorado | I assume best in July?

Kings Canyon High Basin Route, California Sierra | I assume best in August or even better September?

Sierra High Route, California Sierra | I assume best in late summer as well?

Yosemite High Route, California | I assume best in July to mid September?

Wind River High Route, Wyoming | I assume best in July, August?