Paddling the Wild; A Four Day Expedition Along the Allagash Wilderness Waterway

Options
Max_Kiel_Trail
Max_Kiel_Trail Member, Moderator Posts: 12

The Allagash Wilderness Waterway, located in the far northern reaches of Maine, has been a highly sought after destination for paddlers from all over the world for decades. A journey along the Allagash grants an experience that can be hard to find elsewhere;

consisting of 92 miles of remote and pristine river and lake travel through the heart of the Great North Woods. A truly wild place.

As exciting as the prospect of tackling the entirety of the 92 mile route in one push sounded, I wasn’t quite sure if I was ready for such a water expedition, as most paddlers complete the entire route in around 10 days. Most of my experience in the backcountry comes primarily in the form of foot travel, but I do dabble in the art of canoe expeditions from time to time. I’m no expert by any means on river and open water travel, but I like to think I know my way around a canoe.

Months of pouring over trip reports and talking to local guides helped me settle on a more feasible plan; 50 miles over the course of four days, traveling through the northern half of the waterway.

This route avoids most of the larger lakes in the Southern half (and the burlier rapids), which can be tricky to cross when faced with the brutal North headwinds the Waterway is known for. This route I had chosen primarily consisted of river travel, with some open water lake paddling.

With my team of three assembled (and a trusted four legged, furry river companion, Max), we loaded up my car with one canoe and one kayak, and on July 13th we left the cozy confines of our apartments and the luxuries of city life in Portland, ME, and began the five hour drive North to Arrostook County, the land of Moose and sparse cell service.

July 14th, Day One, 17.8 Miles Paddled