WHO WE BACKPACK WITH: SCOTT NECHEMIAS

Options
MARK SIREK
MARK SIREK Administrator Posts: 301
edited July 2023 in THE GEAR LAB

Words and Photos from @snechemias

Hello there! My name is Scott, and the time that I spend writing this is a brief interruption from what would have otherwise been an evening staring into the comforting electric glow of a Caltopo screen, pondering the promise of what future hiking plans will manifest from the mysterious interaction between the photons shooting off the monitor and the gray matter behind my eyeballs.

I work as a dog trainer and burn the candle at both ends by being on trail typically 80 to 100 nights a year, mostly on cross-country routes of my own design. In the past, I’ve hiked established well-known routes like the Wind River High Route, Pfiffner, Kings Canyon, Weminuche, and Sierra High Routes, and it became a catalyst for who I am as a hiker today–someone who spends more time off trail than on. I have a special affinity for Oregon’s high desert, and the longest cross-country route I’ve designed to date traverses 135 miles of the Columbia Plateau in John Day River Country. I’ve also created routes in the Olympics, Beartooths, Gore Range, and Glacier Peak Wilderness. Now in my mid-40s, I’ve discovered my greatest skill as a hiker isn’t any physical prowess but the ability to plow through head-high sagebrush and catclaw when the need arises. 

On the Weminuche High Route.

As you might have guessed, I really like dogs, and I really like my dogs, Cheese and Special Agent Utah, who often accompany me on trips suitable for canines. The mutts are co-parented by fiancee Jordan, who is a veterinarian specializing in emergency medicine. Jordan is an accomplished route maker and finder as well.

Ignore the sprawl. It’s organized, I promise.