AND NOW FOR A LOOK AT THE WEATHER. INTRODUCING METEOROLOGIST AND PHOTOGRAPHER, MICHAEL DEYOUNG

Options
hyperlitemtngear
hyperlitemtngear Member, Administrator Posts: 77
edited April 2023 in OUR STORIES

Words & photos by Michael DeYoung (@michaeldeyoung)

I’m Michael DeYoung, and I am a former Air Force meteorologist. For the past 30 years, I have been a travel and adventure photographer with a commercial career that’s seen thousands of publication credits in magazines, books, calendars, and advertisements. Two years ago, I began teaching weather and forecasting for photographers to find the best light and conditions to create impactful imagery. The good folks here at Hyperlite Mountain Gear have asked me to offer my meteorological knowledge and skills as a resource for adventurers.

At first, I used my meteorological expertise to find the best light and warmest conditions for demanding commercial tourism clients in Alaska; a place with a harsh climate, even in summer.

Over time with an ever-improving set of tools and data available over the internet, I studied which weather patterns and clouds produced the most dramatic and salable light for outdoor photography.

Frequent sojourns into wild places by backpack, ski, or paddle are a huge part of my photography. We have spent weeks exploring the wilderness of Alaska, the Cascades, Rockies, and the Desert Southwest. I began to use modern forecasting tools on our adventures, too, figuring optimal times to go so we could either avoid or intercept challenging weather for photo impact.

Learning and understanding the climatology of the areas we were exploring and using model forecasts became valuable planning and decision-making tools for our adventures.