What’s your favorite vegan lunch for backpacking?

Options
krysta_king
krysta_king Member Posts: 11

Hello! I’m new to the vegan game + would love some lunch ideas for the trail. Ideal for long distance backpacking/thru-hiking!

Answers

• Naomibro
    Naomibro Member Posts: 92
    Options

7/18. GOOD for you and good FOR you! Animal products seem to be highly inflammatory and bad for one's long term health. Been vegetarian for many years. Even on the Trail. It is generally a social hassle. So rather than explain, I quietly bring my own food or find something to eat food or drink offered--too tired for debates. Food represents courtesy and love for YOU to many cultures, ours included; refusing is culturally insensitive. Be polite.

For the Trail, say nothing. Invest in a good dehydrator and bring your own food. Try noodle or rice meals with beans. Beans have complete proteins and the drained, canned type hold their nutrition. Cook your own food. Take care of yourself. Usually, "farmers markets" have lotsa vegetables, grown with few or no pesticides. But you HAVE to ask. If they don't know, move on. Some veggies sold as "organic" are very toxic and store pesticides.

There are many, options for quality vegan meals, but you do have to work at it and be prepared to shell out MORE money.

Learn to read labels carefully; most prepared "vegan" meals have high sodium, MSG, sugars, high glucose, dyes, corn, or other fillers hidden in the product. Ya have to be a chemist to decipher! So: you have to make your own.

Less is more; it's a lot of work. When hiking, you have to really pay attention to quality, complete protein intake. It's a lot of work and requires careful planning.

Try canned vegetables and soups with no sodium added. Most commercial soups have LOTS of salt!