NATIONAL TRAILS DAY IS EVERYDAY! REBECCA SPERRY GETS YOU READY TO DIG IN

MARK SIREK
MARK SIREK Administrator Posts: 293
edited December 2022 in ADVOCACY

Words and Photos from Rebecca Sperry

As an avid hiker, I have always felt that it is important that we, as a community, give back to the trails that provide so much to us. However, the amount of manpower it takes to maintain our trails is mind-boggling, and sadly, a lot of the people that are volunteering are becoming too old to continue doing so. While I understand that most people who are not retired can’t devote dozens of hours a year to do trail work, I find it hard to believe that the vast majority of us can’t take a few hours a year to help on a trail in our local areas. I also know that it can be very intimidating to consider volunteering to do trail work. 

When I first heard about trail adopters, I felt like I wasn’t qualified. I have zero experience using hand tools, and I don’t consider myself to be the strongest hiker. Would I be strong enough to carry the equipment? How would I know what to do? Thankfully, when you sign up to volunteer, you’re trained on how to maintain your trail, or you work as a group and are given training on what you need to be doing. 

As an adopter, you are doing first-level maintenance. In the White Mountain National Forest, this entails cleaning out water bars, brushing the trail, and clearing the trail corridor. The WMNF provides tools, and you must attend training before working on your trail. After completing training and working on my own trail, I felt an incredible sense of pride in the work I did. It was empowering to go out into the middle of the woods with hand tools and work, especially as a female. What seemed incredibly daunting and something that I was not qualified to do became another way to enjoy my local national forest and give back to the trails that have given me so much.