THE WELCOME WEIGHT OF WATER

Options
MARK SIREK
MARK SIREK Administrator Posts: 297
edited July 2023 in ROUTES & TRAILS

Words & Photos by Michael Jones @TenDigitGrid

Where do you go when almost the entire state of California is on fire, and you have been cooped up inside your tiny one-bedroom apartment avoiding the coronavirus? You visit the beautiful pristine Channel Islands National Park!

I am a Jersey boy who fell in love with the Sierra Nevada Mountains while stationed in California as a Marine Corps Officer. Being a Marine, I am used to hauling heavy loads for miles on long marches. This is why I am not your typical ounce-counting ultralight backpacker, but I love my Southwest 70 because it enables my heavy-load hobby of photography.

My previous backpack was a 65L pack that weighed in at over four pounds. The Southwest can hold 70L at under two and a half. As a hobbyist photographer, I need those extra pounds shaved off for all my camera gear!

The real question is: can an ultralight backpack stand up to heavy loads? This is the story of how mine enables my hobby of photography while also meeting the challenge of hauling water halfway across Santa Rosa Island.

My fiancé and I boarded the ferry in Ventura, California, bound west for Santa Rosa Island, located in the Channel Islands National Park. Earlier, while exploring options for our time off, we had almost planned to explore the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Unfortunately, at the time of our trip, the Sierras and most of California was on fire due to forest fires. We were lucky to have rerouted our destination to one of the few places that still allowed backpacking at the time.